ISO 15926

ISO 15926 is a seven part model and data library reference for process plants and production facilities. It is the standard designed for data integration, sharing and exchange between computer systems for life-cycle information in process plants, including oil and gas production facilities. Its ability to facilitate data integration, sharing and exchange enable this model to unify life-cycle and component information in capital intensive technical installations. The ISO 15926 standard integrates life-cycle data and provides a common language, bridging the gap between the systems used by the plant and facility owners and operators, their suppliers, engineering procurement and construction (EPC) companies and any attendant subcontractors.

Explore our overview to learn more about how Intergraph and SmartPlant® Enterprise support ISO 15926.

ISO 15926 Life-cycle Phases

The ISO 15926 standard is able to encompass all the phases of a process plant and production facility life cycle. Its data and information classification system is divided into a seven-part standard, which includes:

  • Design
  • Engineer
  • Procure
  • Build
  • Commission
  • Operate and Maintain
  • Decommission

The ISO 15926 Standard

The seven-part standard that makes up ISO 15926 encompasses the classification of data and information, plant or facility reference data, a format for information exchange between facades and all query and transfer protocols.

In more detail, the seven parts are as follows:

  • Part 1 - This is the introduction and provides information pertaining to engineering, construction and operation of production facilities. This information is used and modified throughout a process plant or production facility's lifetime.
  • Part 2 - The second part of ISO 15926 supplies a four dimensional data model (concerning objects that exist in the typical three dimensions, plus time) that is able to support all disciplines, supply chain company types and life-cycle stages, regarding information about functional requirements, physical solutions, object types, and individual objects and activities.
  • Part 3 - The third stage defines the geometrical and topological constructs of ISO 10303-42 (which defines the exact shape of a product) in Web Ontology Language (OWL).
  • Parts 4-6 - Parts four through six of ISO 15926 provide the reference data, the terms used throughout a production facility or process plant.
  • Part 7 - The last stage defines the implementation methods used for the integration of distribution systems. The implementation architecture follows the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) Recommendations for the Semantic Web.

Utilizing state of the art semantic Web technologies (Web Ontology Language for one), ISO 15926 benefits from a solid theoretical foundation and a proven track record of open source components and applications. The process plant and production facility industry has recognized the importance and value of ISO 15926 and as a result, ISO 15926 has been the recipient of substantial and continuing investment from EPC companies, industrial process plant owners and operators and software vendors.

Since ISO 15926's inception in the early nineties, Intergraph's SmartPlant® Foundation model has been based on the ISO 15926 standard. Since becoming ISO 15926 compliant, Intergraph has contributed to the continued development of ISO 15926 through the POSC-Caesar-IDS and FIATECH-ADI projects. As a result, Intergraph's SmartPlant® Enterprise suite of process plant and production facility software is capable of supporting compliance at the most basic Reference Data Library level to the most complex and sophisticated implementation and integration levels featured in Part Seven of ISO 15926.

Related Topics

© Copyright 2012 Intergraph Corporation - Printed from on 6/22/2018 5:28:44 PM